Skip to content

The Seeker’s Prayer

August 13, 2007

Dr. John Gerstner

Dear God, whom I hate with all my being precisely because you hate and threaten me with hell, I hate this punishment perhaps even more than I hate you. Or, maybe I should say that I love my comfort even more than I hate you. For that reason I am asking a favor of you. I want you to make me love you, whom I hate even when I ask this and even more because I have to ask this. I am being frank with you because I know it is no use to be otherwise. You know even better than I how much I hate you and that I love only myself. It is no use for me to pretend to be sincere. I most certainly do not love you and do not want to love you. I hate the thought of loving you but that is what I’m asking because I love myself. If you can answer this ‘prayer’ I guess the gift of gratitude will come with it and then I will be able to do what I would not think of doing now—thank you for making me love you whom I hate. Amen.

Also check out:

Eph 2:1-10 NASB
(1)  And you were dead in your trespasses and sins,
(2)  in which you formerly walked according to the course of this world, according to the prince of the power of the air, of the spirit that is now working in the sons of disobedience.
(3)  Among them we too all formerly lived in the lusts of our flesh, indulging the desires of the flesh and of the mind, and were by nature children of wrath, even as the rest.
(4)  But God, being rich in mercy, because of His great love with which He loved us,
(5)  even when we were dead in our transgressions, made us alive together with Christ (by grace you have been saved),
(6)  and raised us up with Him, and seated us with Him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus,
(7)  so that in the ages to come He might show the surpassing riches of His grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus.
(8)  For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God;
(9)  not as a result of works, so that no one may boast.
(10)  For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand so that we would walk in them.

Thanks to Way of the Master Raido

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2007 9:22 pm

    So, Christians hate their own god, huh? I thought that was relegated only to the atheistic arena? Nice to know we have company.

  2. September 25, 2007 3:25 pm

    You miss understand the prayer. This prayer is not from a believer, it is meant to be from the unbeliever to God. It is true seekers prayer not one from some big mega church that whats to win you over with a thumping sound system.

  3. September 25, 2007 7:02 pm

    Sorry, I’ve never visited a mega church but I’m putting that on my to-do list as I type this. I was raised in an independent fundamental bible-believing Baptist church of approximately 400 members (in the off-season).

    The prayer you posted above is the seeker’s prayer, correct? As the prayer unfolds, you find that the seeker is no longer seeking but is a convert.

Leave a Reply

