Skip to content

Where in Tar Nations have I Been?

March 11, 2007

So there may be one or two people out there that are wondering if I have fallen off the face of God’s green Earth.  Well since I am sitting down writing this that must not have happened.  So where you ask have I been, well that is a story that I am ready to share, at least what I remember of it that is.

Let us see in about mid November I went in the hospital for a simple gall stone operation, no big deal right.  I remember waking up in the recover room after the operation, my wife and her brother where there to keep me company.  This is where my memory gets sketchy, I know a few days later I was complaining about having constipation, boy did I try every thing to relive my self including suppositories, but noting seemed to work.  We made the trip home, a five hour ride, with no relief in sight but my two week work week was about to start and I was bound a determined to get a pay check.

Well I went to work for one 12-hour shift, that I have no memory of.  I went home and at some point made it to a doctor, now this I remember as if it was yesterday.  I was in agony the cramping was unbearable.  It did not take long for them to emit me to the local hospital.  I want to think they gave me something for the pain, they’re only other treatment was to give me enema after enema but all to no avail, thankfully I had in my opinion the best local Doc and she made the call to have me and my wife Life Flighted to Anchorage Regional Hospital.

I remember getting on the airplane then getting off in Anchorage after that my mind goes blank and I do not recall anything until waking up in the CCU (Critical Care Unit).  So from here on out I will be trying to recreate what happened from what has been told to me by my wife.  I am not sure how long it was from the time they admitted me until I went under the knife.  However, at one point I was in a room on the third floor of the hospital when things went down hill fast.  My body was poisoning it’s self, ammonia was building up in my system, this caused me to hallucinate, some bad some worse.  At one point wife was up for 36 hours straight trying to keep me in bed, I had a strong desire to push and I thought I needed to go to the bathroom.  My wife only dosed off for a minute and I decided to get my happy but out of bed and go potty.  My wife woke up to a large crash and found my on the floor in a pool of my own blood from were I had pulled the IV out, who needs them anyway.  Sometime around here is were my wife lost her patience with the lack of care I was getting, I’m telling you pissing off my wife is the wrong think to do, she went ballistic on everyone on that floor.  I will say that this was the only bad part of my care.  The rest of the stay I was given by far the best possible care you can get.  One of the other stories my wife told me was that in one of my bids to get up I almost struck the one person who was there for me through thick and thin, that being my lovely wife.

Sometime later, I was taken to the OR, I was diagnosed with deep vein thrombosis, in other words a blood clot in the Portal vain.  So they opened me up cut out about 3ft of I believe my large intestines and routed my small intestines so they drain into a bag on the outside of my body, this is call an ileostomy.  After the first surgery they didn’t sew my completely up but left the wound partly open, I was then placed into a pharmaceutical coma and a paralytic drip.  Thankfully, the surgeon was straight forward with my wife when he told her that I was close to death and that in the next couple of days I could go at any minute. My wife reacted like any loving women would, she nearly passed out.  However, I am in awe of how fast she recovered.  She was able to not only able to tell her cousin but later my mother “That if I died I’d be OK with it, for I knew that I would be with my Savior and Lord, Jesus.”

I have since found out that when I first got to the CCU I was on life support, specifically a ventilator and a feeding tube.  My recover time in the CCU was 2 1/2 weeks.  At one point, I was back to “normal” then I went silent for about 3 days, I think this scared a lot of people.  Nevertheless, thanks to the Grace of God, I recovered and finally I was released from the CCU where I was bounced around the hospital.  I must have been in four different rooms in two days.  Than I was placed on the recover floor.

This is were I spent my 2006 Christmas  in a hospital room, although I did get a day pass to go to my mother-in-law’s house and open gifts with my family but sadly I got sick and had to go lay down in a back bedroom.  Thanks to great rehab stuff, I had to go twice a day until I was released, I recovered.  But there was still one more twist at one point during my rehab whenever I would stand up my blood pressure would bottom out and I’d nearly pass out.  That eventually went away and I was able to get out of bed.

After seven weeks in the hospital, I was released.  This has been a very concise version that I have recently been though.  Here is the point of all this, what if anything have I learned about God from this.  Primarily God is Sovereign and always in control, you see I have a hard time saying that God caused this to happen but He knew it would.  It was no surprise for Him.  Secondly, God meets the needs of those who He has chosen, you see with seven weeks in the hospital and seven weeks of recoup time at home all the while I did not earn a paycheck, you see my employer does not give us sick leave.  But not only did my employer hold my job for me, even pass the legally required time frame but God used my co workers to up supply for my monetary needs they set up a donation bank account in which many people gave very generously too.  They helped organize fundraisers, in the end that account got up to about twenty thousand dollars.  It did not stop there either local bills were paid i.e. heating fuel, electric bills.  Not to mention the unending support from my local church, they went above and beyond what I could have hoped for.  God truly is good.

Finally, what has God taught me in all this, for one I am beginning to learning to be humble.  However, the thing I hope will have the most effect on me is the fact that life is short and we are not promised even one more day, how can we waste the precious little time we have on senseless things.  My prayer is that this will kick up my love for the lost and this will engulf my fear so that I can be bolder in talking with people about the Gospel.  My personal goal, if it is God’s will, I want to open air preach at least once this summer.  What a high calling it is to lift of you voice and proclaim the Good News.

To God goes all the Glory.
Don Disney

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2007 9:42 am

    Ow! and also Wow!
    Glad you are getting to be alright again. We’ve been praying for you. Pls be gentle w/ yourself as you continue to recover.

  2. March 12, 2007 2:09 pm

    So glad to hear you are doing better!

  3. Cheri permalink
    March 17, 2007 3:08 pm

    Praise God you are a christian! I am so relieved to hear that you are ok!

  4. April 20, 2007 8:23 pm

    Praise be to God! May He continue to show His mercy and grace through you to the world!

Leave a Reply

