Skip to content

The Wilderking Trilogy

March 23, 2006

The Bark of the Bog Owl
The Secret of the Swamp King

By Jonathan Rogers

Image hosting by Photobucket


Image hosting by Photobucket

For me the test of a good book, especially one that’s fictional, are the characters and a story that draws you in so that you feel like you’re a part of the action. And well quite frankly Mr. Rogers does a fantastic job of that. From start to finish this book draws you in and takes you on an adventure. “Ha-ha-ha-hrawffff-wooooooo.” Very loosely based on King David’s adolescent life, Mr. Rogers uses vivid imagery and rich character detail, to create a world that just keeps bringing you back for more.

I’m not sure how much authors like to be compared to one another, but I can’t help being reminded of my favorite fantasy author, from my childhood days, Piers Anthony. I think this is primarily due to the fact that both authors set their characters in places that are distinctively American. Piers Anthony’s Xanth used Florida, and I for some reason picture Jonathan Rogers’ Corenwald as taking place somewhere in the Deep South that however maybe were the comparison ends. And if I remember correctly Piers Anthony tended to blur the line of morality in his novels while Jonathan Rogers stays true to Biblical values.

Before Harry Potter came out parents complained that there children wouldn’t read anything. Well after I was finished reading both books, I let my friend’s 14 year old son borrow them and not only did he read them in just a few days, he went to the Wilderking website to find out about the third book in the trilogy, which by the way comes out on May 1st, and he was bummed out that there was only two books. Now, there are not many books out there, save maybe the Potter series that can spark that kind interest in young people. This is one author that I plan to keep my eye on, not only for myself, but I can’t wait to have my children’s eyes light up as they are whisked away into the adventure of a good book.

My one complaint about both books is that they ended far too soon, but don’t just take my word for it find more reviews for The Bark of Bog Owl and The Secret of the Swamp King.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

