Skip to content

Review of Spiritual Counterfeits Project

December 30, 2005
tags:

SCP (Spiritual Counterfeits Project) Journal (Vol. 28.4-29:1 2005)

I’m pretty excited about having the opportunity to review this product. I should start by airing out a few problems I have with SPC. The biggest issue I have is their web site , which I feel should be more informative and user-friendly. They do offer some sample articles of their journals, but I feel they should offer more information.

Now that I’ve gotten that off my chest let me tell you about some of the positive stuff that SPC has to offer. One of the coolest things I’ve found is the SCP Access Info and Counseling Hotline. If you have a question or problem with a cult you can call them up and talk to a real live, flesh and blood person. The other thing that stands out is the fact that the people they employ have been saved from the different cults that they provide info about.

OK, now to the important stuff what I thought of the articles in this issue:

The Soul under Siege Can “the war on terror” be won?
By Lee Penn

I’m sad to say that I missed reading part I, but the fact of the matter is Part II is a complete and separate article in and of itself.

In a nutshell this article is about the players that are pushing not only for a one world government but also a one world religion. It is very well written and quick to the point, and I thought it more than covered the topic.

From Old Gnosticism to New Age “An Historical Analysis of the Impact of Secret Orders and Mystery Religions from the 6th Century to the Modern Era”.
By Alan Morrison

If you think the title is long you should have read the article. While over all the info within is quite fascinating I felt it got to over detailed at times. However it is interesting to see how Gnosticism has had so much influence on the modern thought process, including Darwinism.

Despite how I feel about the article being long winded, I did learn a lot on were the concept of a “heaven on Earth” came from.

The Suicide Option “When Life has Lost Meaning”
By Josh Ong

This is by far and away the most touching article in this issue. The author here is a very brave young man, who sadly reached the point of no return and tries to kill himself. Mr. Ong bravely shares his journal entries both before and after he attempted suicide. In the mist of the darkness this young man gets a glimpse of hope. Thankfully out of this Josh comes to now Christ. It is varying interesting seeing what loneliness and rejection (not to mention the enemy) can do to the human mind.

Over all I am well pleased with this issues. The articles do a great job of providing a lot of information in a very limited space. I have already started to read the newest issue and hope to have it reviewed shortly. I will offer one note of warning, this Journal is geared to those that are very interested in apologetics; I believe most others would find the depth of the issues covered by SCP to be boring and uninteresting.

For more reviews go here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

