Skip to content

Misconceptions

August 18, 2005

You ever read something and automatically form an opinion of it.

When I was looking for a church the first thing I did was pick up the local phonebook, which typically lists church’s by denomination. There are 4 or 5 bible teaching churches in this town, of those, three of the major denominations are here. You have Lutheran, Southern Baptist, and the Assemblies of God. Then you have an Independent Baptist Church(not sure who there independent of), a community church(of with I’m a member of) and one that’s listed as charismatic (which is the church that I’m taking The Way of the Master course). All this mind you for a town that has a population of 4 maybe 5 thousand.

As I have listed those off I bet that you have formed a picture in your head I know I did. Ok lets get to the point. Let me tell you what I picture when I hear the word charismatic. The first real church I remember going to was with my dad, they have been what I’ve always considered charismatic. They would do a lot of strange stuff, I don’t think I need to go into details. So this picture has been stuck in my head for a long time.

Last night what I saw are people that have a deep love for the Lord. The young lady that did the Q&A session this evening spoke with a passion and fire. You can’t look in your Bible and say well you know she a woman and she can’t stand up and talk or a 100 other different verses in the Bible that you can pull out and twist all around and say “here you doing it wrong.” What she did last night was a pure gift from God. Man, woman, heck God has even used a talking donkey, to do his will. The point I’m trying to make is that sometimes we need to put aside our opinions and take a look around us. The Body of Christ is in deep need of repair, and it’s up to us as Christian to do the leg work.

So why am I writing this, this is me taking the time to tell them I’m sorry for judging them and asking them to forgive me. My intention is to email this to the pastor with asking him to at least pass this on to the others in this class, with my deepest thanks for encouraging me.

One last think before I go. That list of churches at the top, none of them are the true “church”. The True Church is not some building. The Church is the believers in Christ, and our pastor is the Lord Jesus Christ. It’s time to stop sitting around and saying “You know the world is sure going hell in a hand basket.” Duh read your Bible, THE WORLD IS GOING TO HELL IN A HAND BASKET, and the time for sitting is over.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

