Skip to content

In Response

August 16, 2005

I think I understand your post and your banner on top. My sense (and hope) is that the Christian faith is much bigger than the moral questions of abortion and fire-insurance so that people don’t end up in hell.

Eddy brings up some good points, what is Christianity about. There a lot of people that will tell you that you should accept Christ because He will make you feel better and cause all your troubles to go away. While I’ve have seen what Christ has done in my life, I’d have to say that using Jesus as “band aid” (for lack of a better term) is not exactly right. In Matthew Jesus says:

10:34 “Do not think that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I have not come to bring peace but a sword. 10:35 For I have come to set a man against his father, a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law, 10:36 and a man’s enemies will be the members of his household.
10:37 “Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me, and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. 10:38 And whoever does not take up his cross and follow me is not worthy of me. 10:39 Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life because of me will find it. NET

It the easiest thing in the world to say you’re a Christian, but to get up everyday and “walk the walk” can be one of the hardest. When Jesus says lose your life He not talking about death, He saying deny yourself what the world has to offer and follow me. Luke 12 says:

12:16 He then told them a parable: “The land of a certain rich man produced an abundant crop, 12:17 so he thought to himself, ‘What should I do, for I have nowhere to store my crops?’ 12:18 Then he said, ‘I will do this: I will tear down my barns and build bigger ones, and there I will store all my grain and my goods. 12:19 And I will say to myself, “You have plenty of goods stored up for many years; relax, eat, drink, celebrate!”’ 12:20 But God said to him, ‘You fool! This very night your life will be demanded back from you, but who will get what you have prepared for yourself?’ 12:21 So it is with the one who stores up riches for himself, but is not rich toward God. “NET

Now as far as fire-insurance goes there are only two choices you can make. Heaven or Hell. I don’t pretend to know what hell’s like, I think I’ve heard it best described as eternal separation from God. And there is only one way to get to heaven, and that is because God became a man and took the punishment for our sins, not so we could feel better, not to make our problems go away, but because He loved us. Just about everyone knows John 3:16 but there are five other verses that in my opinion that should go along with it.

3:16 For this is the way God loved the world: He gave his one and only Son, so that everyone who believes in him will not perish but have eternal life. 3:17 For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world should be saved through him. 3:18 The one who believes in him is not condemned. The one who does not believe has been condemned already, because he has not believed in the name of the one and only Son of God. 3:19 Now this is the basis for judging: that the light has come into the world and people loved the darkness rather than the light, because their deeds were evil. 3:20 For everyone who does evil deeds hates the light and does not come to the light, so that their deeds will not be exposed. 3:21 But the one who practices the truth comes to the light, so that it may be plainly evident that his deeds have been done in God. NET

I challenge anyone that reading this to take a little quiz just click on this button.

TRY THE TEST

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

