Skip to content

Music to change the world to

July 15, 2005

Have You Forgotten
Darryl Worley
Written by Darryl Worley and Wynn Varble

I hear people saying we don’t need this war
I say there’s some things worth fighting for
What about our freedom and this piece of ground?
We didn’t get to keep ’em by backing down
They say we don’t realize the mess we’re getting in
Before you start preaching
Let me ask you this my friend

CHORUS 1
Have you forgotten how it felt that day
To see your homeland under fire
And her people blown away?
Have you forgotten when those towers fell?
We had neighbors still inside
Going through a living hell
And you say we shouldn’t worry ’bout Bin Laden
Have you forgotten?

They took all the footage off my T.V.
Said it’s too disturbing for you and me
It’ll just breed anger that’s what the experts say
If it was up to me I’d show it every day
Some say this country’s just out looking for a fight
After 9/11 man I’d have to say that’s right

CHORUS 1
Have you forgotten how it felt that day
To see your homeland under fire
And her people blown away?
Have you forgotten when those towers fell?
We had neighbors still inside
Going through a living hell
And we vowed to get the ones behind Bin Laden
Have you forgotten?

I’ve been there with the soldiers
Who’ve gone away to war
And you can bet that they remember
Just what they’re fighting for

CHORUS 2
Have you forgotten all the people killed?
Yes, some went down like heroes in that Pennsylvania field
Have you forgotten about our Pentagon?
All the loved ones that we lost
And those left to carry on
Don’t you tell me not to worry ’bout Bin Laden
Have you forgotten?

Have you forgotten?
Have you forgotten?

I reviced an email from I friend of mine today, I won’t use his name. But he’s serving right now in Iraq. You know what the email was full of, hope, pride for serving his country. He doesn’t want to be to be there, would you? He has family and
friends that love him and would rather have him here than there.

America we forget way too easy. Do you know how bullies gain power? Because people will cower away from them, just hoping they will go away or that someone else will deal with them.

War should only be used as a last resort. Well after 9-11, I’m not real sure America had any options left. We were not the first to be attacked, Israel lives with attacks almost daily, we are not going to be the last, Spain and Enland should be prove enough for that. But if we let our guard down even just a little we will be attacked again.

Now I’m fixin to say something that may upset some people so I want to set the record straight right now. As Americans it is our right and our responsibility to question our government every step of the way. The minute we stop will be the minute we lose every freedom we hold dear.
So with that being said, if you disargee with what I’ve just said please by all means voice your concerns, write your congressmen. Good men have died to ensure your freedom. Heck take your fustrations out on me, yell at me, cusre me out. Because right now I’ve just turned my speakers up and all I hear is:

Have you forgotten

Well have you????


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

